Skip navigation

Gloucestershire Business News

Gloucestershire election results

The people who will run a large swathe of Gloucestershire for the next four years have been chosen.

Nationally, the Tories are facing crushing losses in the May 4 elections as voters turn against the party.

More than 8,000 council seats were contested across 230 local authorities with estimates on Friday morning suggesting Rishi Sunak's government may have lost as many as 1,000 to rival parties.

Here in Gloucestershire Liberal Democrats retained control of Cotswold District Council (CDC) while the Tory opposition leader lost his seat.

All 34 CDC seats were up for grabs and the political make-up of the council, going into the election, was 18 Liberal Democrats, 14 Conservatives, one Green Party councillor and one Independent.

The new make-up of the council is now 22 Liberal Democrats, nine Conservatives, two Green Party and one Independent.

Lib Dem council leader Joe Harris was re-elected for St Michael's ward while Cotswold Conservative group leader Tony Berry lost his seat on the council to a Lib Dem.

Mike McKeown will now represent the Kemble ward after receiving 665 votes.

Mr Berry, who polled 479, said he was disappointed with the result and it is likely to mark the end of his council career as he will be 76 by the next election and does not plan to stand again.

For the full results see below. Results compiled subsequent to this report above indicate that Tewkesbury fell to no overall control with the Green Party retaining the Forest of Dean, the former showing a significant advance for the Liberal Democrats while the Forest recorded a good night for the Greens.


Lib Dems HOLD:

Abbey- Mark Harris re-elected

Bourton Village - John Brian Wareing elected

Chedworth and Churn Valley - Paul Hogkinson elected

Chesterton -Roly Hughes elected

Fairford North - Michael Jeremy Bernard Vann elected

Four Acres - Ray Brassington elected

New Mills - Claire Jane Bloomer elected

Northleach - Tony Dale elected

Moreton East - David Angus Grant Jenkinson lected.

Siddington and Cerney Rural - deputy council leader Mike Evemy re-elected

South Cerney Village - Juliet Layton re-elected

St Michael's - council leader Joe Harris re-elected

Stow - Dilys Neill re-elected.

Stratton - Patrick Coleman re-elected

The Ampneys and Hampton -Lisa Spivey re-elected

The Beeches - Nigel Robbins re-elected

Watermoor - Gary Selwyn re-elected

Lib Dems GAIN:

Kemble - Mike McKeown elected

Lechlade, Kempsford and Fairford South Ward - Helen Mansilla and Clare Muir elected

Tetbury Town - Ian David Watson elected

Tetbury with Upton - Chris Twells elected

Conservatives HOLD:

Bourton Vale - Len Wilkins is elected

Campden Vale - Gina Blomefield and Tom Stowe re-elected

Coln Valley - John Anthony David Fowles elected

Ermin - Julia Judd re-elected

Fosseridge - David Cunningham e-elected

Grumbolds Ash with Avening Ward - Tony Slater elected

Sandywell - Jeremy Edward Thayer elected

Conservatives GAIN:

Moreton West - Daryl John Corps elected

Green Party HOLD:

The Rissingtons - Andrew Maclean re-elected

Green Party GAIN:

Blockley- Clare Victoria Turner elected

Independents HOLD:

Tetbury East and Rural - Nikki Ind re-elected


Conservatives HOLD: 

Badgeworth - Robert John Edward Vines elected

Highnam with Haw Bridge - Dermot McLain, Jill Kate Smith - elected

Isbourne - Christopher Francis Coleman, Melanie Andrea Gore - elected

Northway - Pauline Anne Godwin, Elaine Jane MacTiernan - elected

Severn Vale North - Heather Christina McLain - elected

Severn Vale South - Mark Julian Williams - elected 

Winchcombe - David William Grey, Jim Mason - re-elected

Green Party GAIN:

Tewkesbury East - Hilarie Jane Bowman, Helena Sundarajoo - elected

Tewkesbury South - Cate Cody, Matt Dimond-Brown - elected

Independents HOLD:

Brockworth East - Charlotte Emily Mills elected, Jason Paul Mills - elected

Brockworth West - Craig Lee Carter, Deborah Jeanette Harwood - elected

Tewkesbury North and Twyning - Mike Sztymiak, Philip Noel Workman - elected

Lib Dem GAIN:

Churchdown Brookfield with Hucclecote - Paul Edward Smith, Richard James Gilbert Smith, Gilbert Ian Yates - elected

Churchdown Saint Johns - Stewart Richard Dove, Mary Louise Jordan, Lik Skelt - elected

Cleeve Hill - Nigel David Adcock, Lorraine Cheryl Agg - elected

Cleeve St Michael's - Alex Hegenbarth, Kashan Pervaiz - elected

Cleeve West - Richard John Stanley, Murray Robert Stewart - elected

Innsworth - Sarah Jane Hands, Paul William Ockelton - elected

Shurdington - George Malcolm Porter - elected

Lib Dem HOLD: 

Cleeve Grange - Thomas Jacob Budge - elected



The Green Party now has 15 councillors and is the largest group, Independent/Undefined on 11, Labour with five, Conservative with four and Liberal Democrats on three.

Berry Hill - Tim Gwilliam & Jamie Elsmore, Independents - elected

Bream - Alison Jennifer Bruce & Beth Llewellyn, Green Party - elected

Cinderford East - Di Martin & Matt Bishop, Labour - elected

Cinderford West - Jacob Edward Sanders, Labour, Mark David Turner, Undefined - elected

Coleford - Clive Terence Elsmore, undefined, Patrick Joseph Kyne, Labour, Ian Richard Whitburn, Independent - elected

Dymock - Gill Kilmurray, Lib Dem - elected

Hartpury & Redmarley - Philip Howard Burford, Independent, Clayton Dean Williams, Con - elected

Longhope & Huntley - John Charles Francis, Independent, David Stephen Tradgett, Green - elected

Lydbrook - Sid Phelps, Green - elected

Lydney East - James Preest, Con, James Arthur Bevan, Ind, Andrew Raymond McDermid, Green - elected

Lydney North - Harry Joseph Ives, Con - elected

Lydney West & Aylburton - Mark Topping, Green - elected

Mitcheldean Ruardean & Drybrook

Newent & Taynton - Jackie Fraser & Trevor Benjamin Roach, Green, Shaun Stammers, Labour - elected

Newland & Sling - David Andrew Wheeler, Green - elected

Newnham - Richard William Burton & Andy Moore, Green - elected

Pillowell - Jackie Dale, Green - elected

Ruspidge - Bernie O'Neill, Ind - elected

St Briavels - Chris McFarling, Green - elected

Tidenham - Johnathan Lane & Adrian Birch, Green, Nick Evans, Con - elected

Westbury-on-Severn - Simon Charles Phelps, Ind - elected

Related Articles

HMRC issues £3.2 million in money laundering penalties Image

HMRC issues £3.2 million in money laundering penalties

A Gloucester firm is among hundreds of businesses fined a total of £3.2 million for breaching anti-money laundering rules.

Versarien revenues fall while losses rise Image

Versarien revenues fall while losses rise

Gloucestershire-based advanced engineering materials group Versarien is looking to bounce back after a "challenging" period.

Plan to support 100,000 jobs launched at national net zero conference  Image

Plan to support 100,000 jobs launched at national net zero conference

A new plan for how South Wales and Western England could make the UK a global leader in net zero energy has been unveiled at a national conference.

Partners line up for 'Inspiring the Forest' event Image

Partners line up for 'Inspiring the Forest' event

A ground-breaking initiative to raise young people’s aspirations in the Forest of Dean is being launched by the Forest Economic Partnership (FEP) later this month.

Copyright 2023 Moose Partnership Ltd. All rights reserved. Reproduction of any content is strictly forbidden without prior permission.